Skip to content

Oh Kindle 2! Please find your way to me!

by on August 4, 2010

The only thing I want more than to see Wicked for my birthday is the Kindle 2, and for this I’ve had many people say “Seriously!? Why!?”.

The first, and most important, reason why is I’m a gadgetophyle.  I usually don’t have the newest or the latest, but I’m not too far behind.  The main argument I’ve heard against the Kindle 2 is “But the IPad’s out. Why don’t you just get an IPad?” Well, mostly because the cheapest IPad starts at $499 while the cheapest Kindle 2 starts at $139.  Seriously…  I’m poor.  On top of that, though, I already have a netbook, smartphone, and handheld gaming device so the IPad would just be overkill.  Sure I can read ebooks on my phone or netbook, but the Kindle 2 is sleek, has a great screen for reading in the sun, and makes me feel just a little bit more like I’m reading an actual book.  Currently I’m carrying around a fairly large fantasy novel.  Every day it goes with me because I never know when I’ll have time to read a few pages.  Dropping a pound or two from my overstuffed messenger bag would make me an exceptionally happy girl.

Reading on the elliptical/treadmill would be a million times easier without paper.  Holding a book open and running is not an easy task, but the Kindle I could just toss on the machine and go.  Clicking a button every once in a while to flip pages.

Kindle books are usually a dollar or two cheaper than their paper counterparts.  Additionally, I don’t have to worry about storage for a digital book.  As previously stated, I’m poor, saving a dollar here and there is important to me.  Especially in the long run, and I’ve become a huge fan of digital media over disc/paper media.

Honestly, I can justify the purchase of a Kindle 2 a million different ways, but deep down I really just want it.  I don’t need it.  I have a library right around the corner if there’s something I absolutely have to read.  I just want it.  It’s been a while since I’ve purchased a new gadget.  It’s time.

From → Tech

One Comment
  1. dtrainsmash permalink

    I may have to write a review of my Sony E-Reader. It’s last years model but I’m still very impressed with it and find it to have alot to offer.

Leave a Reply

